Premium Top

Billboard Top

To top

ASLA 2013 Honors: Firm Award for Reed Hilderbrand

Peter Zöch

The American Society of Landscape Architects announced the 2013 Honors recipients. Reed Hilderbrand,  that practices landscape architecture as an art of purposeful transformation, will receive the Landscape Architecture Firm Award.

The project "Half-Mile, Hand-Built Line: Berkshire Boardwalk, Stockbridge, MA" by Reed Hilderbrand, received a 2011 ASLA Honor Award (Photo: Andrea Jones, Garden Exposures Photo Library).




The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) recently announced the 2013 Honors recipients. Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the Honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. Reed Hilderbrand wins the Firm Award, Warren T. Byrd Jr. earns the ASLA Medal, Shlomo Aronson will receive the Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence. The awards will be presented during the 2013 ASLA Annual Meeting and Expo, November 15-18 2013, in Boston. (A full list of the 2013 Honors recipients you can find here.)

Reed Hilderbrand has earned 12 national ASLA awards in the last decade

Reed Hilderbrand of Watertown, Massachusetts will receive the Landscape Architecture Firm Award, the highest award ASLA may bestow upon a landscape architecture firm in recognition of distinguished work that influences the profession. Since 1997, the collaborative work of Douglas Reed and Gary Hilderbrand has been recognized for its design, craftsmanship and extraordinary use of plants. The firm’s work is wide-ranging, from residential and parks projects to cultural and academic institutions and has garnered 12 national ASLA awards just in the past decade.

ASLA Medal for Warren T. Byrd Jr.

Warren T. Byrd Jr. will receive the ASLA Medal, the Society’s highest award for a landscape architect. Byrd taught full-time for 26 years at the University of Virginia, serving seven years as chair of the landscape architecture department. At the same time, he also built and maintained a thriving practice – Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects in Charlottesville, Va. – that has won more than 70 national and regional awards for its work to date.

ASLA’s Medal of Excellence goes to Shlomo Aronson

Shlomo Aronson will receive the Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence. The award recognizes significant contributions to landscape architecture policy, research, education, project planning and design, or a combination of these items. During his 50-year career, Aronson, considered the “Olmsted of Israel,” has shaped landscapes throughout this relatively new country. His design legacy displays his leadership in sensitivity to both environmental and cultural concerns and has earned the admiration of his peers worldwide.

Are you interested in other ASLA events? Then learn more about the ASLA Conference in 2019 that examined the US identity in turbulent times.

Medium Rectangle


Beat the Heat – Join us!
The cooling power of urban green: how green combat city heat
public transport – topos 126